Opening Event – Executive Roundtable

The Soul of the Next Economy Forum opens on Friday afternoon with the Executive Roundtable event which brings together diverse leaders in the business community with non-profit sectors, government, indigenous communities and educational institutions to discuss corporate social responsibility and the role business has in enhancing communities both locally and globally.

1:30-3:15 – Joe Ceci, the Minister of Finance will deliver a welcome message to attendees. Linda Coady, our Moderator will give some comments and then Calgary and area business and community leaders will host small groups of Forum delegates in roundtable discussions, inviting participants to engage in conversation around various topics of interest. These face-to-face discussions will encourage delegates to ask questions and share perspectives around key aspects of social responsibility, as well as hear from their table hosts. See our list of roundtable hosts below.

3:15-4:00 – Panel discussion among the moderator and some of the business leaders, summarising key topics of discussion and notable take-a-ways.

4:00-5:00 – Frontiers in Social Responsibility with our keynote speaker, Wayne Visser

Meet some of our roundtable hosts:

  Name & Position Company/Organization
Shane Jaffer, Senior Director Africa Alberta International Development Office,
Government of Alberta
  Terry Beckman, Associate Dean of Business Athabasca University
  Tara Weber, Western Correspondent BNN
  Paul Wright, Executive VP & Chief Risk Officer Black Diamond Group
  Leighton Healey, Co-Founder & CEO Bootkik
  Scott Crockatt, Director of Marketing & Communications Calgary Chamber
  Court Ellingson, VP Research & Strategy Calgary Economic Development
  Mario Siciliano, President & CEO Canada’s Sports Hall of Fame
  Jeff Bowling, Senior VP Canadian Western Bank
  Joni Avram, President Cause & Effect Marketing
  Catherine Brownlee, President & CEO CBI
  Sheila Carruthers, Associate CBSR
  Usman Tahir Jutt, Owner/Operator Chirp Foods/McDonald’s
  Laurence Nguyen, Sr. National Account Manager – Petroleum & Chemicals CN Rail
  Mike Deboski, Owner Deboski & Company
  Alex MacWilliam, Partner Denton’s
  Colin Jackson, Chair ImagiNation 150 (former Epcore Centre President)
  Matt Beck, Sustainability Lead Imaginea
  James Thangaraj, Director of Strategic Partnerships Innovate Calgary
  David Sayson, President & Owner Just Aquaponics (Vancouver)
  David Mason-Robertson, HSSE Director LNG Canada
  Mel Wilson, President M.J. Wilson & Associates
  Samuel Minde, President & CEO Neyaskweyahk Group of Companies
  Corey Janvier, Director Business Development SCI North
  Carolyn Martin, President & CEO Sponsor Energy
  Penny Favel, VP Environment, Land and Indigenous Relations TransCanada
  Karen Young, President & CEO United Way
  Jim Dewald, Dean of Haskayne School of Business University of Calgary
  Robert Schulz, Professor University of Calgary
  Yvonne Jeffery, Sustainability Lead Vermilion Energy
  Jim Button, Co-Founder / Strategist Village Brewery / Evans Hunt Group
  Simon Lewchuk, Senior Policy Advisor World Vision
  Shannon Doram, President & CEO YMCA


Click here to see our Roundtable event and hosts from last year.

*NEW*  View our 2016 Executive Roundtable Summary Report.

Get connected: